The Third Wife of Faraday House: A Novel (Paperback)

The Third Wife of Faraday House: A Novel By B.R. Myers Cover Image
$18.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


The Edgar Award–winning author of A Dreadful Splendor blends mystery and spooky thrills with friendship and romance in this delicious love letter to Gothic fiction, featuring two brides who must band together to unravel the ghostly secrets at the heart of a crumbling island manor. 

'Til death do us part...

November 1816: Restless but naïve Emeline Fitzpatrick is desperate to escape her stifling life in foggy Halifax. Her guardian is lining up repugnant suitors, but Emeline has her eyes set on a handsome lieutenant in the British navy. She just needs to persuade him to propose, or her one chance at happiness will be gone forever.

But when Emeline’s hopes end in scandal, she finds herself with only one suitor left: the wealthy and enigmatic Captain Graves. Having already lost two wives to tragic circumstances, the unfortunate widower is seeking a new companion in his cloistered seaside manor, Faraday House. Or at least that is what Emeline had been told, because when she arrives, she is horrified to discover that the second Mrs. Graves, Georgina, has not yet died.

Emeline is only certain of two things: something ghastly is afoot at Faraday House, and no one is going to save her. She will have to rely on her own courage, her burgeoning bond with the ill but strong-willed Georgina, and the aid of a handsome reverend with a mysterious past to unravel the secrets at the heart of the manor and forge her own destiny.  


About the Author


Always in the mood for a good scare, B. R. MYERS spent most of her teen years behind the covers of Lois Duncan, Ray Bradbury, and Stephen King. She is the author of the international bestseller, A Dreadful Splendor, winner of the Mary Higgins Clark Award, as well as numerous YA books. When not putting her characters in precarious situations, B. R. Myers works as a registered nurse. A member of the Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia, she lives in Halifax with her family—and there is still a stack of books on her bedside table.

Praise For…


“A spooky gothic romance with impeccable vibes. I loved this! Beatrix Greene fans, you will love it, too!” — Rachel Hawkins, New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs, on Dreadful Splendor

"A Dreadful Splendour is a delightful mix of gothic, mystery, and romance, perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn and Sherry Thomas. Con artist heroine Genevieve is a memorable addition to literature's gallery of charming rogues. I had such fun reading this book." — Gwenda Bond, New York Times bestselling author of Not Your Average Hot Guy

“This gem of a book sparkles with wit and originality. . . . There is no shortage of tricks and feints in this excellent novel and Genevieve is a delightful character.” 
The Globe and Mail on Dreadful Splendor

“Remember Penny Dreadful with Eva Green? Me too, and this book promises to fill the Victorian-era-séance-shaped void the show left in my heart. It’s also bound to satisfy fans of other amateur Victorian sleuths, like in A Curious Beginning, with the added bonus of Genevieve’s roguish ways—which obviously only make the journey more fun.” — Book Riot, The Best Books Out This Week, on Dreadful Splendor

"An intriguing whodunit . . . Myers nicely couples an unlikely and unethical sleuth with an atmospheric puzzle. Fans of roguish investigators will be delighted." — Publishers Weekly on Dreadful Splendor

"A perfectly splendid novel . . . It can be easily read and relished by anyone ages twelve and up, as it is devoid of both crude language and explicit sex scenes. It is an attention grabbing, vividly imagined, suspenseful Victorian gothic mystery romance which this reader found impossible to put down! . . . The writing is fresh, original, full of surprises and features a captivating heroine in Genevieve Timmons. It’s a gem!" — Booktrib on Dreadful Splendor

“Breathtaking, puzzling and spine-chilling all at once. A spectacular, haunting mystery with a touch of romance and twists galore. Absolutely brilliant!” — T.A. Willberg, author of the Marion Lane Mysteries, on Dreadful Splendor

"A page-turner . . . combining mystery, romance and spiritualism in a Victorian London setting full of secrets and seances."
Saltwire (Halifax, Canada) on Dreadful Splendor

"Delicious double crosses, a haunted estate, and a heroine who might just lose her heart—if she can keep her neck out of the hangman's noose. A Dreadful Splendour will keep readers guessing." — Kathleen Peacock, author of You Were Never Here, on Dreadful Splendor

"Thrilling, atmospheric and propulsive, with healthy doses of heart and humor thrown in for good measure, A Dreadful Splendour is a cleverly crafted mystery with an irrepressible heroine you won’t soon forget. I can’t remember the last time I had this much fun reading a book!" — Tom Ryan, author of Keep This to Yourself, on Dreadful Splendor

"An enjoyable interpretation of an old favorite." — Publishers Weekly on Rogue Princess

"Fun and imaginative." — School Library Journal on Rogue Princess

"Delightful . . . a unique and fun retelling that I won't forget." — The Nerd Daily on Rogue Princess

"What's not to love? . . . A swoonworthy read." — Booklist on Rogue Princess



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063209879
ISBN-10: 006320987X
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Publication Date: August 20th, 2024
Pages: 352
Language: English